More about Poems

I have a collection of poems I really like by other writers. While I was pulling some of them together I noticed a funny coincidence, that I am not sure really is a coincidence. As someone who watches the moon, charts the moon in my journals, and has a major art installation titled The Moon Project, I am naturally drawn to the many haiku written about the moon:

 

Listening to the moon

gazing at the croaking of frogs

in a field of ripe rice.

Buson

 

 

Calligraphy of geese

against the sky—

the moon seals it.

Buson

 

 

The moon tonight—

I even miss

Her grumbling

Issa

 

 

Moon, plum blossoms,

this, that,

and the day goes.

Issa

 

 

 

This haiku has a different subject:

 

When the winter chrysanthemums go,

there’s nothing to write about

but radishes.

Basho

 

 

 

And here’s a poem that makes me both laugh and cry. Do you think Karla Kuskin had read some of these haiku before she wrote this?

 

Write About a Radish. . .

by Karla Kuskin

 

Write about a radish

Too many people write about the moon.

 

The night is black

The stars are small and high

The clock unwinds its ever-ticking tune

Hills gleam dimly

Distant nighthawks cry.

A radish rises in the waiting sky.

 

PS–I am frustrated with the auto-formatting that I am unable to overcome. When I learn more about how to format these posts, I’ll clean them up to make it easier to read the poetry. And if anyone has suggestions about how to do it, I am all ears. Thanks!

 

 

 

 

About sallie wolf

I am a full-time artist, writer, and avid journal keeper. I am happily married to Chuck Wolf and we have two sons, now grown. I was born in Virginia, have spend as much time as possible in New Hampshire at my family's summer house, and have lived in the Chicago area for most of my adult life.
This entry was posted in Poems and Poetry, The Moon Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

