Who I Am and Why I’m Here

Who I am and why I’m here:

I am a lover of books—I read books, I write books, I make books, I collect books. Something about paper, the smell, feel, content, color, size, design, cover—I love everything about books. I am an avid journal keeper and the published author of three children’s books.

 

Rattlesnake 2014 4.

I am also an artist. When I went to art school I intended to learn to draw people so I could illustrate the books I intended to write. Instead I fell in love with Art in a larger sense and while I created the images for one of my published books, I do not think of myself as an illustrator in the traditional sense.

So why write a blog? I often ask myself this question, since I write almost daily in my journal, which is strictly for myself. I use my journal to organize my life, to resolve questions, to store information. All my creativity begins in my journal. I see a blog as an opportunity to create and sustain a conversation with others beyond myself. It is a place to share experience and knowledge.

I think of my blog as “Notes From the Studio,” but I will not be limited to the studio walls. I intend to write about my works in progress, my travels and the sketching I do on the go, I also will write about exhibitions I see, books I find relevant, and the things I discover that support and sustain my creative life.

The blogs I follow inspire me with the content they share—posts that give me information, new ways to look at issues I care about, insight into the creative process of artists, writers, illustrators. Information about the art world and the publishing world.

If at the end of a year I have a record of travels, books read, documentation of works in progress. I will consider the blog successful. If I have been able to contribute to other creative people with the content of my blog, that will be a real bonus. And if I find a community forming around shared interests, I’ll know I’m on the right track.

About sallie wolf

I am a full-time artist, writer, and avid journal keeper. I am happily married to Chuck Wolf and we have two sons, now grown. I was born in Virginia, have spend as much time as possible in New Hampshire at my family's summer house, and have lived in the Chicago area for most of my adult life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who I Am and Why I’m Here

  1. victoria Boreyko says:

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog entries!

    • sallie wolf says:

      Hi Vicky–I’m taking a free course on how to improve your blogging skills from WordPress, Blogging 101, so hope to be reinvigorating my blog(s) with new-found knowledge. Let me know what you think as it evolves./

  2. Great post! Your blog seems really interesting. I’ll be following you as I am a lifelong artist and once had dreams of writing and illustrating children’s books. I’m also doing the Blogging 101 course. See you around! 🙂

  3. Scarlett79 says:

    Hi, I’m a jack of all trades, and a master of none. Really I just like to blog, write and I haven’t seen a journal that I didn’t like. The husband is an amazing artist and I am trying to get a blog going, thepainter’swife but the process is slow. My blog is just more comfortable for me right now. We are working on building a website for his artwork, but that all takes time. I love, love, love your description of successful blog. I consider my blog successful because usually when I go back and read it, I smile…Blessings ❤ The link to my blog is http://elan-creations.me I hope you will go check it out. I too am in Blogging 101

Leave a Reply

